2023 GBA Annual Awards

Congratulations to our annual award recipients: Kevin Pegram – Brittni Cooke – Scott Jones – Will Yearns

The Association’s Annual Awards were presented on Thursday, March 21, 2024 at Starmount Forest Country Club. The following individuals and organizations were recognized for their contributions to the Association, the building industry and community.

Eugene Gulledge Award

The Eugene Gulledge Award for Distinguished Service is the highest honor given by the Builders Association. It is named in honor of Eugene Gulledge who founded the Greensboro Builders Association sixty-seven years ago. This award recognizes continuous, outstanding contributions to the Builders Association and the community at large.

Will Yearns, Granville Homes received the 2023 Eugene Gulledge Award. Will has been involved in the building industry for the past 15 years and actively engaged in our Association. His vision, innovative and strategic thinking have been instrumental in the development of many initiatives benefiting our members and industry. Will has served in numerous leadership capacities, including with our Young Professionals, Construction Careers, Raising Roofs, TREBIC, North Carolina Home Builders Association, as well as our Finance and Executive Committees and Board of Directors, serving as our 2021 GBA President. Over the past six years, Will has led our workforce development initiatives, striving to expand our partnerships with area educational and workforce organizations, including developing an online Jobs Portal. Will understands and values the importance of giving back…and does so for our Association as well as many other entities throughout our community.

Builder Member of the Year

Kevin Pegram, Kylind Services received the 2023 Builder Member of the Year Award. Kevin has been involved in the building industry for the past 30 years. He has served in a variety of leadership roles within our Association including our Builders Council, Membership, Construction Careers, Finance and Executive Committees, and on the Board of Directors for the past five years. This past year Kevin served as our 66th Association president while championing the formation of our Building for the Future Construction Careers Scholarship Endowment and inaugural Casino Night with all proceeds supporting the Endowment.

Associate Member of the Year

Brittni Cooke, Movement Mortgage received the 2023 Associate Member of the Year Award. Brittni has been an active member over the past seven years…serving as an ambassador for our Association, helping others find ways to engage and connect. She serves on our Membership and Construction Careers committees; is a founding member of our Professional Women in Building Council; and has co-chaired our Young Professionals the past two years. She was instrumental in the development of our Let’s Get Social workshops this past year. Brittni was recently elected to our Board of Directors as an Associate Director.

Kavanagh Award

Tiny House Community Development received the 2023 Kavanagh Award for their efforts in working to address homelessness in our community as they are building and developing tiny house communities. Scott Jones and his team are not only working to provide affordable housing…they are focused on workforce development, providing skilled training for construction trades to area students and adults.

Lewis Award

Rich & Kathy Dumas, R & K Custom Homes received the 2023 Lewis Award for utilizing the most Association members in the construction of their Parade homes, working with more than 38 Associate members. This is their seventh consecutive year of receiving this award recognizing their dedication and commitment to conduct business with members.

Find photos from the annual awards meeting on our GBA Members Facebook page.